A write up on karadaiyaan Nonbu

This is the forwarded message and I found it very useful and interesting. Hope this will be useful to all those celebrate karadaiyaan nonbu in different parts of the world.

A note on Karadaiyan nonbu on 14. 3. 2017o

Compiled by

P.R.Ramachander

The Karadaiyaan  Nonbu commemorating the epic story of Savithri regaining her husband from Lord Yama is celebrated at the last few minutes before the end of Masi(Kumbam) month and before the beginning of the month of Panguni(Meenam) .Normally all unmarried ladies and married ladies with husbands alive(sumangali) offer sweet as as well as salt Adai (made of rice harvested in the Kar season-May june ) , butter, banana fruit along with Vetrilai Pakku to the Goddess and a yellow thread which is offered in the pooja is tied by themselves or their mother in case of Unmarried ladies and tied by the husband in case of Sumangalis .   At that time they chant

Dhram gruhnami subhage sahardhraam
Dharami aham bharthu
Ayushya Sidhartham supreethabhava sarvadha

I am taking the thread ,Oh pleasant goddess, with affection ,
And I am wearing it for long life span of my husband.
Become always pleased with me.

The following Tamil chant is also chanted

Urukaadha Venneyum oradaiyam naan nootren
Orukkalum en kanavar ennai vittu pririyadhirukka vendum

“உருகாத வெண்ணெயும் ,ஓர் அடையும் நோற்று உனக்கு நான் வைத்தேன் ,எந்நாளும் என் கணவர் எனை விட்டு நீங்காத அருள் தருவாய்” என்று அம்மனை நோக்கி வேண்டி நமஸ்கரிக்கவும்.

(I have offered you unmelted butter and One Adai ,PLeae bless me so that my husband will live with me forever)

Most of those who observe the Nonbu do not take food from morning till they do the pooja

This year the month starts at 5.31 PM IST since 3-4.30 PM is Rahu kalam , learned Vadhyars suggest that this pooja should be done after 4.31 PM and before the month beginning, . Therefore  all cooking and preparations can be done before 4.30 PM

The corresponding time in different countries is given below:-

India 5.31 Pm
Dubai 16.01 PM(Theis local time)
Frankfurt and Paris 13,01 PM (Their local time)
London 12.01 PM (Local time)
USA eastern time 8.01 Am(Local time)
USA central time 7.01 AM (local time)
Western time 5.01 AM (Local time)
Sydney 20.01 PM(local time )
Singapore 20.01 PM(local time)
KUlalampur 20.01 PM(local time)
Tokyo 21.01 PM
It is a practice in certain homes to worship goddess Kamakshi by calling a priest . Instead you can also chant the following Sankalpam and perform the Pooja yourselves

Mama deerga saumanglya avapthyartham , mama bhartheu anyonya preethi ,
Abhivrudhyartham , Aviyogartham Sri Kamakshi poojaam karishye

Translation
For getting the status of Sumangali for a very long time ,
For increase of mutual love between me and my husband
For never being ever getting parted with him ,
I am doing the worship of Goddess Kamakshi.

And chant the Dhyanam

Ekambara nadha dayithaam kamakshim ,
BHuvaneswarim dhyayami hrudaye,
DEvim vanchithartha pradhayinum

Translation
I meditate on the wife of Elambara Nadha,
Who is the goddess of the universe in my mind ,
So that the goddess fulfill my mind’s desires.

Then chant ashtothara of Kamashi http://stotrarathna.blogspot.in/2015/06/kamakshi-ashtotharam.html

and worship the goddess by offering her flowers

. It would be great if you can chant the Yamashtakam chanted by Savithri to get back her husband.( http://stotrarathna.blogspot.in/2013/03/yamashtakam.html

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: